Guwahati: The by-polls for ten assembly constituencies in the north-eastern States of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland are scheduled for 30 October. According to the Election Commission of India, the last date for filing nomination papers for by-elections is fixed on 8 October. The counting of votes will take place on 2 November and results are expected same day.
In Assam, five assembly constituencies namely Gossaigaon, Tamulpur, Bhabanipur, Mariani and Thowra will go for polls. Majuli constituency is not named in the list as the Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal resigned as its legislator little late, even after he was declared a winner to Rajya Sabha from Assam unopposed as none filed nomination papers for the seat.
Gossaigaon seat was vacated as its legislator Majendra Narzary died in May 2021. Similarly, Tamulpur legislator Leho Ram Boro also expired during the same month. On the other hand, Bhabanipur legislator Phanidhar Talukdar, Mariani MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi and Thowra legislator Sushanta Borgohain left their respective parties to join the ruling Bhartiya Janata Party.
Presently, the BJP has 59 legislators in the 126-member Assam legislative assembly, whereas its allies Asom Gana Parishad has nine MLAs and United People’s Party Liberal has five legislators. The opposition Congress has 27 legislators and AIUDF has 15 MLAs. Bodoland People’s Front has 3 legislators and CPI(M) has one member. The assembly has one independent legislator (Akhil Gogoi) too.
In Meghalaya, by-polls will take place in three assembly constituencies namely Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang and Rajabala, as the elected representatives (David Nongrum, SK Sunn and Azad Zaman respectively) had died. Mizoram will also witness the by-elections in Turial as its legislator Andrew H. Thangliana passed away recently. Similarly, Nagaland also lost its Shamtorr-Chessor MLA Toshi Wungtung to illness.